Okemos Board of Education Okemos, Michigan 48864 COMMUNITY CONVERSATION MEETING APRIL 18, 2018

PAGE 8613 4-18-2018

The Community Conversation meeting of the Okemos Board of Education was called to order by President Bolton at 7:07 p.m.

Call To Order

Members Present: Dean Bolton, Amy Crites, Melanie Lynn, Vincent Lyon-Callo,

Tonya Rodriguez, Sarah Wohlford and Erica Wolf

Administrators: Superintendent Alena Zachery-Ross; Assistant Superintendent

John Hood; Assistant Superintendent Cheri Meier and Finance

Director Elizabeth Lentz

Other: Technology, Security, Transportation and Capital Outlay

Committee Members; Facility and Site Use Committee

Members; Staff; and Community Members

A welcome was given by Superintendent Alena Zachery-Ross. Introductions of the facilitator and board members were made. Board President Dean Bolton also introduced all board members.

Community Conversation

Attendees participated in a connector activity led by Facilitator Teresa Bingman.

Superintendent Zachery-Ross reviewed the agenda and provided the purpose of the community's work.

Norms for participation were explained.

Dr. Catherine Ash, Patricia Trelstad, Director of Operations Steve Lathrop, and Beth Brauer-Delaney presented a summary of each committee's recommendations.

In small groups, participants discussed what they supported, what additional information was needed, and what questions they had regarding the following: Transportation, Technology and Air Conditioning; Long-term Facilities Options; Security Options; and Capital Outlay – Flexible Seating, Fine Arts and Athletics.

Small Group Discussion

Participants were given the opportunity to read the results of the small group conversations and given time to provide feedback.

Feedback Activity

Next Steps were described by Superintendent Zachery-Ross.

Closing Comments – Board President Dean Bolton delivered a closing statement.

Public Comment

During Public Comment, the following individuals addressed the board: Stefanie Konrad; Christopher Billingslee; Jesse Green; Katie Cavanaugh; Mike Froh; Nadia Sellers; Michael Kieliszewski; and Sharry Kim regarding the committee's recommendations.

Adjourn

President Bolton adjourned the community conversation at 9:06 p.m.

Tonya Rodriguez, Secretary